Sony A7II Shutter Count

Meestar

Hi all,

New to this forum, in the hope that someone can help solve this mystery. I recently installed PIE (Picture Information Extractor) more out of interest than anything else. But one thing this shows is the shutter count as it is held in the EXIF metadata. I have had my A7II for little over a year and was surprised to see a shutter count of around 14000. I am not a professional and do take loads of images but not that much.

Now I looked at a number of images taken on my holiday last year. The first image has a shutter count of 2207, the last taken 16 days later, has a count of 7535, that's 5328 shutter actuation (an average of 333/day) I also looked at the image names, the first was DCS01090, the final was DSC01758, suggesting less than 700 images taken.

I tried some other EXIF software, and they all come up with the same number of actuation - It just does not seem right.

Is perhaps ImageCount not quite what it seems? or am I missing something?

Thanks for the responses guys,

I have tried http://tools.science.si/index.php and it confirms the same shutter count as in the EXIF (I suspect it reads the same data) I also get the fact that things like HDR, Panorama, etc will affect shutter count, but it still seems very different to the image count, and unexpectedly high. But perhaps this accounts for it.

If I get a chance, I might do a test this weekend, count shutter actuation and test images at start and finish to see what the EXIF says.

Hi all,