Voigtlander 35mm f/1.2 Nokton II on a7R / a7S

Jan Anne

I've been using fast 35mm primes as my main lens for a few years now and the Voigtlander 35/1.2 always intrigued me as it is the fastest 35mm that I knew of, so a soon as the a7R was introduced I knew it was time own one.

The a7R didn't last long however, as a low light shooter it just wasn't the right camera for me plus I didn't like how it demoted my legacy lenses to pieces of junk. Luckily Sony didn't wait long to provide me with the perfect escape route out of an otherwise bad investment in the form of the amazing a7S, a long awaited mirrorless successor of my beloved D3s (what a beast that was).

The Voigtlander 35/1.2 is an awesome and unique lens, the way it renders the out of focus background wide-open is just stunning as is the smooth transition from sharp to the out of focus zone. Wide open there is a nice glow which gives this lens some character which aids in the smooth boke, that said I would like my main lens to be a bit sharper and contrasty wide-open for some extra pop so I'm secretly eyeballing the 35/1.4 FE.

Mugshots with the iPhone 5 and the Hipstamatic app (my other camera):

10994825413_e296854d9c_b.jpg

11014255385_d714e9a621_b.jpg

Here's a couple of images I took in Montenegro last year on a one week photo trip with my Nikon buddies, they gracefully allowed to me to tag along with my first Sony ;) All images where shot wide open at f/1.2 on the a7R.

14275269208_37d473e505_o.jpg

14288468568_67baa5c2f3_o.jpg

14445459596_31181d475b_o.jpg

And one with the a7S from a local museum in Amsterdam, haven't used this combo much but vignetting is a lot better than on the R:

14885860468_37db3729dc_o.jpg

I have this lens too and I use it on the a7.