a77ii, a99 or A7

Hi all:  Brand new to the forum!  

I am a pretty good photographer and have been using a Sony a55 for a while.  It's been nice buying Minolta lenses, and the Zeiss lenses I've been fortunate to use are incredible.

I have been wanting to upgrade my body though.

I really like the a77ii.  I like the a99, but I'm not a (have to use full frame) kinda shooter.

My concern is, is Sony  (or other companies) still making lenses for crop SLT camera's?  It seems there are more lenses for E-mount, for the A7 series (I'm not into NEX), than the alpha series already has.  I'd like to keep the lenses I have but I know I can at least get an adapter for the A7 series.  Will it be worth it to upgrade to a a77ii?  I know the a77ii is much less expensive than the a99 or the a7 series... but I won't mind if that's the direction they're heading.

Guest Peter Kelly

The good thing about APS-C cameras is that full frame lenses work just as well, if not better (sometimes...), whereas you can't go the other way around. That means there is already a large range readily available for the A77ii, much larger than the E mount, because it goes back to include all the Minolta and third party A mount lenses.

The only question facing you is how much you are prepared to spend, as you can find loads of bargains on Ebay, all the way up to the 500mm f4 at about £12000!

In your position you just need to be honest with yourself and realistic. If you won't be pushing the limits by shooting fast sports in low light, for example then there is almost too much to choose from of excellent glass.

And the simple truth is they will be available long after you and I are pushing up the daisies, even if Sony was not to make any more from tomorrow.