Jump to content


Photo

Techart Leica M to Sony Autofocus adapter & shipping

Leica m autofocus techar

  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#21 MelSnyder

MelSnyder

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 24 May 2016 - 04:11 PM

Advertisement (Gone after free registration)

Moving the whole lens is crude. Nikon had a 1.6X TC whose internal

elements could shift via communication from an AF Nikon body. This

resulted in AF from MF lens. There's no reason the TC hasta be 1/6X.

It could be 1.3X or even 1.0X, the latter being simply a "relay optic".

Some users would shun such a system as being too meddlesome of

the optical formula of the original lens. Chakkun Asseh Goo.

I'd rather not put any extra optical elements behind a well-designed lens. I've owned Nikon TCs and there was always optical losses. The TechArt solution is better, in my option. Perhaps "crude" - but works well.



#22 nomad

nomad

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts

Posted 25 May 2016 - 08:34 AM

I second this. Even converters with a very good reputation, like Zeiss Mutar or the Minolta Rokkor, degrade the IQ to some extent.



#23 MelSnyder

MelSnyder

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 25 May 2016 - 07:20 PM

Problem with 135mm lenses: My TechArt adapter focuses all but my 135mm lens.

 

It works perfectly with my CV 15mm Series III, 35mm f1.4 Summilux (even in near total darkness), 50mm f2 Summicron and 90mm f2.8 Tele-Elmarit. But neither of my two Canon 135mm LTM rangefinders (newer f3.5, older f4) function properly.

 

If I connect the 135mm lens, lens, set it to infinity, dial in F32 and fire one shot, it then focuses properly - for one more shot. Then, the adapter will not respond to a half-press or full press. It doesn't even attempt to focus.

 

Tried turning off the camera, removing the lens and battery, and re-attaching the lens and reinserted the battery. Still won't focus. If I switch to another lens, dial in the proper F number for that lens, the camera focuses that other lens properly. If I then re-attach the 135, set F32, and shoot a test shot it sets up properly, and properly focuses one shot again. Then it refuses to focus the next image.

 

Anyone know of any solutions? Could the F number be totally wrong for a 135mm lens?

 

HELP!

 

Thanks, Mel



#24 Marc Contaxtonikon

Marc Contaxtonikon

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 26 May 2016 - 11:00 AM

Problem with 135mm lenses: My TechArt adapter focuses all but my 135mm lens.

 

It works perfectly with my CV 15mm Series III, 35mm f1.4 Summilux (even in near total darkness), 50mm f2 Summicron and 90mm f2.8 Tele-Elmarit. But neither of my two Canon 135mm LTM rangefinders (newer f3.5, older f4) function properly.

 

If I connect the 135mm lens, lens, set it to infinity, dial in F32 and fire one shot, it then focuses properly - for one more shot. Then, the adapter will not respond to a half-press or full press. It doesn't even attempt to focus.

 

Tried turning off the camera, removing the lens and battery, and re-attaching the lens and reinserted the battery. Still won't focus. If I switch to another lens, dial in the proper F number for that lens, the camera focuses that other lens properly. If I then re-attach the 135, set F32, and shoot a test shot it sets up properly, and properly focuses one shot again. Then it refuses to focus the next image.

 

Anyone know of any solutions? Could the F number be totally wrong for a 135mm lens?

 

HELP!

 

Thanks, Mel

 

Just for my education - why would you try f32? Have you tried any other f-stops?

Also have you tried to focus roughly and leave the fine focussing to the adapter? This would work with the CONTAX AX, which was the camera that achieved AF with MF lenses years ago based on similar ideas as the Techart is now using



#25 rclymer

rclymer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 May 2016 - 11:32 PM

Got mine yesterday from B&H and i'm in love with it. Super fast and accurate but trying to focus into infinity when the lens in not caused a little bit of a freak out. Restarting the camera got it back to working. 



#26 Ben

Ben

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts

Posted 27 May 2016 - 07:12 AM

As noted I had ordered two of these; one from TechArt when released on March 9th and the second from BH a few days later. I've got four Leica lenses  and hoped to permanently place just two of these on my lenses.

 

I received the first one last week from TechArt. Very disappointing to start with so I've cancelled the second one from BH.   

 

For starters, there was a ton of work put into this design and I very much appreciate all the effort but not at a cost of $350.  Here are the issues thus far:

 

1. Hunts for focus even in high contrast areas. I can manually focus faster.

2. I shot an image of a white textured wall and got a dark ring clearly visible in the image. I removed the TechArt adapter and the ring was gone. Have no idea what this is but its unacceptable.

 

I'll contact TechArt with these concerns and either have them replace it or refund it.

 

For those that are wondering, I was using a Leica Summicron 50, Summilux 35, Summarit 75 and Summicron 90.

 

If I still have the images on my SD card, I'll post them. If not, I can re-shoot and post.

 

Best of luck to others.

 

Hi,

 

I just found a German video that showed the reason for the bright halos (). The adapter seems to have a vignette correction that is specific to a certain lens implemented. If you turn off the lens corrections for vignetting. The halo disappears.

 

Another video showed some limitations of the adapter regarding the auto focus. Disabling Auto Exposure on shutter, face detection and other advanced focusing aids seems to help (). 

 

Hope this helps 

 

Ben



#27 KlausH

KlausH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts
  • LocationRhein-Main Area, Germany

Posted 27 May 2016 - 09:21 AM

@Ben,

 

Thanks for information. I have ordered one, but my order no. is 1789. So it will probably take 2-3 months before I'll get it.

 

Klaus



#28 Langstrum

Langstrum

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 02 June 2016 - 06:09 AM

Problem with 135mm lenses: My TechArt adapter focuses all but my 135mm lens.

 

It works perfectly with my CV 15mm Series III, 35mm f1.4 Summilux (even in near total darkness), 50mm f2 Summicron and 90mm f2.8 Tele-Elmarit. But neither of my two Canon 135mm LTM rangefinders (newer f3.5, older f4) function properly.

 

If I connect the 135mm lens, lens, set it to infinity, dial in F32 and fire one shot, it then focuses properly - for one more shot. Then, the adapter will not respond to a half-press or full press. It doesn't even attempt to focus.

 

Tried turning off the camera, removing the lens and battery, and re-attaching the lens and reinserted the battery. Still won't focus. If I switch to another lens, dial in the proper F number for that lens, the camera focuses that other lens properly. If I then re-attach the 135, set F32, and shoot a test shot it sets up properly, and properly focuses one shot again. Then it refuses to focus the next image.

 

Anyone know of any solutions? Could the F number be totally wrong for a 135mm lens?

 

HELP!

 

Thanks, Mel

I got the same problem when I tried their method for changing the EXIF data on the focal length. Actually you just need to update the firmware (or again if you did already) it will work like normal.
In case you don't know how to update the lens: turn the aperture to F90, shoot once, turn off the camera and use the Techart Update in your smartphone to update the firmware.



#29 Marc Contaxtonikon

Marc Contaxtonikon

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 03 June 2016 - 08:21 AM

I just came across this post

http://www.sonyalpha...leica-m-lenses/

Is this for real - does Techart truly "protect" its market for its overpriced (even more expensive than Novoflex) adapters to the Leica M mount?

Anybody have experience with this?

I am particularly interested in Zeiss Contax adapters to Techart



#30 MelSnyder

MelSnyder

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 03 June 2016 - 10:29 AM

Got mine yesterday from B&H and i'm in love with it. Super fast and accurate but trying to focus into infinity when the lens in not caused a little bit of a freak out. Restarting the camera got it back to working. 

 

 

How fast do you call "super-fast"? Even after updating to firmware 2.0, it takes about 2-3 seconds to focus from infinity to about 2-3 meters with a 35 or 50mm lens.

 

PS: Like me, you own a Deo-Tech version of the TechArt - and B&H has stopped selling it. Apparently they gave up on getting enough supply. 

 

Here is what is truly curious: which company actually designed the adapter? When I tried to get support from TechArt, "David" replied that I should contact Deo for support - which I did. There appear to be 3 corporate entities involved - Deo, TechArt and MX, a Hong Kong distributor? 

 

The Deo web site went into more detail about the firmware 2.0 upgrade - claims it has eliminated all but 5% of the blackout condition that occasionally occurred when pressing the shutter button, and they are working on that.

 

$400 is a lot of money, and I struggled whether I should keep or return this adapter. It is a battery drain - not terrible - but it does a remarkably accurate job of hitting focus with both my pre-aspheric (~1982) 50mm f2 Summicron-M and 35mm f1.4 Summilux-M. While no focus-speed demon, it appears to work a bit faster and more effortlessly than MF, leading me to use my M mounts more than I would - which leads me to a more compact travel kit possibility. I still carry a Yeenon helical M to FE adapter in case the Deo/TechArt might fail.

 

And so, even though B&H has given up on it, I decided to keep it.



#31 MelSnyder

MelSnyder

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 03 June 2016 - 10:31 AM

I got the same problem when I tried their method for changing the EXIF data on the focal length. Actually you just need to update the firmware (or again if you did already) it will work like normal.
In case you don't know how to update the lens: turn the aperture to F90, shoot once, turn off the camera and use the Techart Update in your smartphone to update the firmware.

You are correct! I mistakenly believed it came with 2.0 installed. 



#32 MelSnyder

MelSnyder

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 03 June 2016 - 10:59 AM

I think I have found an improved way to set up and shoot with the adapter - at least with my A7II. 

 

  1. Put the camera in M mode. Apply the lens-specific F number. Shoot one test shot.
  2. Switch the mode to S
  3. Set "focus area" to "center"
  4. Set the "metering mode" to "spot"
  5. Set "live view display" to "setting effect ON"
  6. Set "AF w/shutter" to "on"
  7. Set "AEL with shutter" to "Auto"
  8. Set "SteadyShot" to "on" and "manual," and set to lens-correct focal length
  9. Each time you change lenses, look in M mode at the F number. If it's not correct for the lens, re-set it and shoot a test shot.

The Chinese seem to be about where the Japanese camera industry was in 1980 - run by geeks who have no instructional experience and no appreciation of how to provide equipment-critical setup and trouble-shooting.

 

Has anyone found how to do a factory reset?

 

Has anyone been able to activate focus peaking/magnification with the default C1 button?

 

Still cannot get reliable focus with my Canon LTM 135mm f3.5 lens. However, it is so sharp and contrasty that MF is no big deal. 



#33 MelSnyder

MelSnyder

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 03 June 2016 - 11:04 AM

Just for my education - why would you try f32? Have you tried any other f-stops?

Also have you tried to focus roughly and leave the fine focussing to the adapter? This would work with the CONTAX AX, which was the camera that achieved AF with MF lenses years ago based on similar ideas as the Techart is now using

 

The F32 setting is really not an "f-stop" setting - it's a programming command to the adapter, to tell it what lens you have attached. Think about it - there is no electronic connection between the camera and the lens aperture mechanism. However, the F setting signal ***DOES*** still go to the camera mount contacts - so TechArt/Deo intercepts that signal and uses it to program both the adapter and the EXIF setting.

 

Darn clever, I think!


  • Marc Contaxtonikon likes this

#34 rclymer

rclymer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 05 June 2016 - 04:48 AM

 

 

How fast do you call "super-fast"? Even after updating to firmware 2.0, it takes about 2-3 seconds to focus from infinity to about 2-3 meters with a 35 or 50mm lens.

 

I'm sorry to hear that focus is so slow. I updated it to 2.0 before trying it so I can't speak to performance on the old firmware. From infinity locks focus in around a half second unless theres weak contrast and it may hunt. If your focus is already somewhat close, it's so fast I don't think I could even measure it. I've tested it with a Canon FD 50mm 1.4, FD 24mm 2.8, FD 85mm 1.8, Pentax SMC 50mm 1.4, M42 Rikenon 55mm 1.4, Minolta 58mm 1.4, Pentax 135mm 2.5. it's definitely fastest on the 50mm and below but the 135mm is notable slower. It seems the lighter Canon FDn's are a little quicker than the heavier m42 rikenon. The 50mm's let you focus closer then it normally would, giving a really nice macro ability. The 85 and 135 have too long of a movement to even focus the full range so you must get focus close then let it do the rest. It's really only an issue on the 135, you just can't to focus on something close without manually changing focus from infinity. 



#35 KlausH

KlausH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts
  • LocationRhein-Main Area, Germany

Posted 05 June 2016 - 08:02 AM

... I've tested it with a Canon FD 50mm 1.4, FD 24mm 2.8, FD 85mm 1.8, Pentax SMC 50mm 1.4, M42 Rikenon 55mm 1.4, Minolta 58mm 1.4, Pentax 135mm 2.5. it's definitely fastest on the 50mm and below but the 135mm is notable slower. It seems the lighter Canon FDn's are a little quicker than the heavier m42 rikenon. ...

 

There is some confusion here. The lenses you listed are DSLR lenses and the adapter is probably a Techart Canon to E-mount adapter. This thread here is about the Leica M to E-mount adapter. I don't know if the AF results are cross system comparable. 



#36 rclymer

rclymer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 05 June 2016 - 05:21 PM

Sorry, I forgot to mention that I am using intermediate adapters in addition to the Techart Leica M to E mount. I have a Canon FD to Leica M, Pentax K to Leica M, M42 to Leica M to get all these lenses working. The Canon FD adapters had to be taken apart and dremmeled down to fit around the Techart's hump. Until I get the novoflex or weld the pin back on, they're only working wide open. BTW, I'm using the A7RII.



#37 Golem

Golem

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,249 posts

Posted 06 June 2016 - 12:05 AM

.......... The Canon FD adapters had to be taken apart and dremmeled down to fit

around the Techart's hump. Until I get the novoflex or weld the pin back on, they're

only working wide open. ...........

  

There are 3 [or more?] generations of FD. For adapting, older is better.

All of them can be used at all apertures, but older is easier. The FDn is

the worst. Canon packed a plastic widget with the FDn lenses, and cuz 

most users lost that item, you'd hafta reinvent it.



#38 yeer31

yeer31

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 June 2016 - 04:06 PM

Hi guys,

I just done a review on this adapter and thought I'd answer some of the residual questions posted here:

 

@MelSnyder - the only way to factory reset is to reload firmware. All known versions are available via their update app. "Has anyone been able to activate focus peaking/magnification with the default C1 button?" - focus peaking etc. only woks in manual mode so it'll work once you've switched to manual focus mode

 

@rclymer - focus is conditional to the weight and length of the lens. Even a light lens with significant length will affect the focus speed. Length adds torsional stress on the mount, making it harder to overcome the inertia of the lens.

 

If anyone is interested, my full review can be found on my recently launched site - http://lostlenscaps....adapter-review/

 

I had to trawl the chinese forums to get some of the info. I agree with MelSnyder's comments about Techart being "run by geeks who have no instructional experience and no appreciation of how to provide equipment-critical setup and trouble-shooting". I have all their adapters and it's often a case of trawling the chinese forums to find out bits of info. But then again, no one is making this stuff aside from them.

 

I 3D printed a better hump instead of Dremmeling an adapter like rclymer and that worked for a while. The torque from the mechanism stripped the threads off the 3D hump eventually. That damned hump is really badly designed. It's unnecessarily thick and doesn't protect the innards well. Take care of the adapter, there are large openings which can let dust and moisture into the innards and the PCBs inside are not sealed and, more crucially, neither is the gearing mechanism - which is finely geared. It will clog up eventually and require cleaning. Take the adapter down to a beach and you might actually be sending it back for a refund.


  • Langstrum, Ben and Marc Contaxtonikon like this

#39 nomad

nomad

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts

Posted 09 June 2016 - 06:34 AM

Thanks for the excellent review!

 

From my experience with the Techart adapter for Contax G lenses I can confirm most of these points.

 

It's a piece of technology made by brilliant geeks, but not by a company as we know it. The advantage of that version is the construction of G lenses, where the adapter only needs to drive the existing AF mechanism, plus the excellent quality and (still) low price of those lenses. Unfortunately, the wider lenses (Biogon type) don't work well on digital sensors. Regarding AF speed and reliability of the firmware, they have come a long way. I still need to power-cycle my A7R II occasionally after changing lenses, but apart from that it's AF is as good as it ever was on the original Contax G cameras. I don't regret buying their version 3 and getting through the awkward firmware upgrade process.

 

Regarding the universal AF adapter, it should be clear to anyone with a basic understanding of mechanical engineering that heavier and/or longer lenses will restrict the efficiency of that construction (as I already mentioned further above). I'd recommend very light and short lenses if you want to go that direction. There are some excellent vintage pancakes like Zeiss C/Y or Minolta where you'd only give up some speed for good IQ and decent functionality (I assume the latter, never tested it). But, honestly, I doubt that it makes a lot of sense. I have large collection of other vintage glass, but I use it MF only with the great EVF and pixel-zoom of the Sonys. If I need AF occasionally, I use the only two native AF lenses I own, namely the (acceptable) kit 28-70mm and the brilliant 55mm.



#40 Marc Contaxtonikon

Marc Contaxtonikon

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 09 June 2016 - 07:26 AM

Hi guys,

I just done a review on this adapter and thought I'd answer some of the residual questions posted here:

 

@MelSnyder - the only way to factory reset is to reload firmware. All known versions are available via their update app. "Has anyone been able to activate focus peaking/magnification with the default C1 button?" - focus peaking etc. only woks in manual mode so it'll work once you've switched to manual focus mode

 

@rclymer - focus is conditional to the weight and length of the lens. Even a light lens with significant length will affect the focus speed. Length adds torsional stress on the mount, making it harder to overcome the inertia of the lens.

 

If anyone is interested, my full review can be found on my recently launched site - http://lostlenscaps....adapter-review/

 

I had to trawl the chinese forums to get some of the info. I agree with MelSnyder's comments about Techart being "run by geeks who have no instructional experience and no appreciation of how to provide equipment-critical setup and trouble-shooting". I have all their adapters and it's often a case of trawling the chinese forums to find out bits of info. But then again, no one is making this stuff aside from them.

 

I 3D printed a better hump instead of Dremmeling an adapter like rclymer and that worked for a while. The torque from the mechanism stripped the threads off the 3D hump eventually. That damned hump is really badly designed. It's unnecessarily thick and doesn't protect the innards well. Take care of the adapter, there are large openings which can let dust and moisture into the innards and the PCBs inside are not sealed and, more crucially, neither is the gearing mechanism - which is finely geared. It will clog up eventually and require cleaning. Take the adapter down to a beach and you might actually be sending it back for a refund.

 

Very interesting review indeed  - thank you for that




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

 
x

New Members Welcome!

Not yet registered? Really?

Registration is free and takes only a few minutes.

After the free registration you can discuss with members from all over the world, put questions and present your images.

We are looking forward to you!

Admin Andreas und Sony Alpha Forum Team

Register now! X