Carl Zeiss 50mm Plannar vs Zeiss 55mm Sonnar

geetee1972

Hi all - newbie here, nice be part of the forum.

I have a question around which there is some information in other past posts here but nothing definitive.

I recently moved from an RX1, which I'd had for two years, to an A7rII and to keep the cost down, I picked up some second hand A-Mount primes and relative adapters at very good prices on eBay. My staple lens is the Sony Carl Zeiss 50mm Plannar adapted with the LA-EA3. I also have the 85mm ZA lens with the LA-EA4.

I love both but they are big. Yes they're f/1.4 but I rarely use that apperture as I prefer to have all my subject in focus (I focus mostly on street portraiture). I'm not sure why I opted originally for the 50mm Plannar with adapter when effectively the 55mm native Sonnar is the same price; I think I convinced myself at the time that the larger apperture was preferable. Now I'm not so sure and much as I love the way the bigger plannar lens feels, it does lack eye AF (which would be very useful for what I do) and it is still a weighty lens.

My question is what value do other people think there is to switching? I have no qualms that the chepaer Sonnar lens is probably still sharper than the Plannar, but does it do all those other wonderful things as well, like skin tone, contrast, micro-contrast, colour etc as well?

I would love to read your opinions. Many thanks

Greg

I can see plenty of people have viewed this question but there are no responses. I've actually been able to answer my own question by a rash decision to just buy a copy of the FE55, knowing that I could always sell it or the Plannar. The results are interesting.