A6300 or a7ii as second body

Hello all. I am at a dilemma with what to do. I have recently sold off most my Canon gear (5d3, lenses, underwater housing) and am making the full move to Sony. I shoot for a living and can not be without a backup body for too long. I shoot outdoor lifestyle, adventure and action type stuff (fishing, hunting, diving, boating, etc.). I am very happy with my a7rii currently sporting a 16-35f4 and 70-200f4 and a few adapted lenses that I will be selling off soon to get the new g master glass.

My dilemma is between the 6300 and a7ii. As I see it the pros and cons between the two are as follows

6300 pros

Af speed (huge in what I do)

Burst with live view

Portability

Cons

No ibis

Crop sensor

Uw housing not yet available (I'm sure there will be a Nauticam sooner rather then later though)

A7ii pros

Same body as rii for familiarity

Ibis

Housing already available (and a7rii will fit in housing if need be)

Full frame

Cons

Slower af (how does it compare?)

Slower burst without live view

Size is the same as rii

More $$$

Less focus point coverage

How should the a7ii focus speed compare? Will we possibly see a firmware for bust live view for a7ii or a7rii?

Guest Colin Scott Johnson

I use a pair of A7r II bodies.

Three reasons:

1) 100% image consistency when shot side by side

2) Doubles the memory buttons allocations - I can set one body up one way and the other another, covering double the number of use cases

3) A backup body if one fails

I just spent 3 weeks shooting in Thailand and Laos with the two bodies. A Batis 25 one one Batis 85 on the other.

Wonderful combination for weight, size and IQ.

(http://www.sfstreetz.com/p1072024173#h61902340 - first 42 images)

The A7 II I owned and shot in Myanmar last year.

I hated that camera and sold it upon my return.

It's noisy, doesn't handle low light well and the colors don't look right for me.

HTH

~Colin

• 3 weeks later...