Advice: A7S II vs RX10 II for travel cinematography

nc1983

I'm a film editor and will be doing a world travel backpacking trip for the next year and a half and trying to decide what camera to take. 

I won't have a lot of room so it will be a 1-2 lens max setup.

Can anyone experienced videographers weigh in on whether they would rather take the a7s II with the sony 3.5 24-240mm lens or the rx10 ii that comes with a 24-200 2.8 fixed lens.

I realize these cameras are in completely different categories but if you're looking purely at video, the only real advantage I can see is the a7s II superior ability in low light, and the ability to change lenses (which like I said, I will be taking 2 max). On the RX side, the advantage is the addition of decent 240fps, and weather sealing.

I've watched Brandon Li's amazing A7s travel videos on vimeo so I feel inspired to follow his lead, but he has also used the rx10 ii and rx100 iii as B cameras. So it makes me wonder if I could get away with one of these cheaper cameras as my primary. 

We are talking $1200 vs. about $4,000 for similar lens setup. 

Any videographers here have any additional thoughts that could help me make a decision?

Thank you so much. 

I have an A7sii - I have never used a RX10...... I am also an amateur - a keen one though! So really you have to take my answer with a pinch of salt.

The reason for me getting the A7sii was indeed low light ability, not so much taking video of black cats in coal sheds, just being able to use a small aperture for deep DOF inside. Stopping down to f11 inside requires high iso. This is why I am really interested in this feature.

With regards to manual focusing, I kind of do and don't. I have button C3 on the back set to auto/manual focus. I let the camera auto focus on my subject, then hit the button to turn to manual to stop focus hunting - lazy, but effective, especially when you have the focus peaking to confirm sharp focus.