A7s video settings

Vince_Lux

I'm new to video, but I would like to use my A7s it in cases where I think still pictures just will not do (super low light, far away subjects in movement).

So I was trying to prepare a set-up which makes me ready when the opportunity arrises.

1) It takes some effort to find that SLOG-2 in Sony A7s is PP7, needs post processing (did not find any free way to do grading yet) and has more noise then Cine4 in low light.

2) Cine4 does not really loose dynamic range compared to SLOG-2, with the less noice in low light, it seems great for my usage.

3) It takes a lot of effort to find that Cine4 in the Sony A7s is PP6 (Cine2) adapted. However I did not find the effect of the other settings. I copied the settings of someone off the internet and might test with tweeking that a little further.

I believe the XAVC-S codec is the most efficient in space on the memory card, but requires a card of 64GB of class 10, 50KB/S or faster.

At the moment I'm using 100p, to get slow motion. however no clue how to use that clever in post processing. That a 100p automatically puts you in APS-C mode is not an issue for me.

Any video advice or experience with A7s is welcome.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

In FCX to use slow motion you would add the clip to the project timeline at which point it conforms to the settings of the project (ie your 100fps would now appear as, say, 24fps). To get the slomo, click "Automatic speed" (in the menu which looks like a speedometer). Voila!

I use pp7 at base ISO (3200) but switch to pp6 if I increase the ISO. But I do need to try the rest too (laziness gets in the way).

I find FCX fine for my very limited knowledge of colour science and ability to grade - I do have Resolve but (probably a good thing) my Mac won't run it.

I agree that the Bloom seminar is definitely worth watching.

Tim

• 1 month later...