Help Me Understand Which Lens

Grr

Hi, Im new to photography, so please excuse my ignorance or improper lingo. I just bought a Sony a6000, I do graphic design.

I currently need to take some pictures of food and Im looking for that shallow depth of field capability, where the front and back of the plate are just out of focus, yet still see the whole plate. Im looking at the SEL30M35 macro, SEL35F18 & SEL50F18 oss lenses, and dont know, which is better for this type of photography? Can anybody give me some feedback or opinions?

Everywhere I read about feed photography they say a macro is the way to go, but, and again Im a beginner, the 35mm and 50mm have an F1.8, doesnt this mean a shalower depth of field? If I can take good food photography with this non-macro lenses it would be good for me because I can use them for other stuff I do outdoors and portraits apart from close up photos.

Hope Im being clear, and thanks for taking the time!

Hi

If you want to make pictures of food i would go with a manual focus lens with tripod and long focal length for a shallow depth of field.

Also with macro mode would be good. I would recommend something like a Tokina AT-X Macro 90mm 1:2.5 so you have also something good for portrait shooting.

But you will need space because of the long focal length.

If 90 is to long for you i would recommend a Minolta MC 58mm 1.2 (expensive) or cheaper the MC 58mm 1.4.

If you don´t like manual focus go for the SEL50F18  or the sigma 60mm 2.8 (very sharp and big amount of details) but you will need maybe a macro tube with electric contact´s for the af.

Or better ....but more expensive a LA-EA-2 adapter and a Sigma 105mm 2.8 macro. Great lens with OSS, very good for portrait´s.... but big.

all the best Andreas

Food and product photographers who are using full frame A7 series usually go for 2 main lenses .. SEL55F18Z and SEL90F28G those are the Sony FE 55mm f/1.8 and Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 macro.