Moving To Mirrorless - From Canon To Sony

Like many of you I made the switch to a Sony system from DSLR earlier in the year. I tried out Olympus first and settled on a Sony A7II.

I found a lot of the content online at the time to be very statistic related and I found my self needing to study DxO mark scores which kind of ruined the enjoyment and creative side of photography for me.

I'm a software engineer by day, so it wasn't the technical aspect that I didn't like, it was just the sterile nature of discussing photos by numbers that turned me off, so I created a blog that speaks in a way that I would like to read it.

The first article is called "Moving To Mirrorless" and it talks about some of my experiences and thoughts in moving from a DSLR to mirrorless system. I suspect many of you here went through the same thing and I thought you might like to read it.

Thanks guys ,go easy on the flame comments :)

Good read... I feel a lot of us had similar experiences.

Thanks

Yes I think it will be a familiar read for a lot of people and hopefully it might inspire those on the fence about switching to take the leap.

I really enjoyed the article and had many of the same experiences switching from Canon to Sony Mirrorless.

When I first bought the A7M2, I only used the Metabones IV adapter along with my Canon L lenses and a new Sigma 24mm f1.4 Art lens.  I found the auto focus to work albeit very slow.  And I was disappointed to not be able to use the phase detection (AFS-C) with non-Sony lenses.  I was trying to photograph my 8 month old grand baby and it was a challenge to get tack sharp images.  

So I bought the Sony 35mm f2.8 and Sony 55mm f1.8 lenses.  The difference is amazing.  I can't wait for the next visit in August to see the grand baby and use these native Sony lenses.  I think I'll sell all my Canon glass with the exception of the 70-200 f4 L.  And once the 85mm Sony Batis is available, I'll probably get rid of it too.

Thanks